Striper Cup 2012 Results

by laserd7

Thanks to Mike Gaffney for this report on the Striper Cup on June 23.

This biennial event was almost postponed due to a forecast for rain, thunderstorms and no wind.  But with some travelers from as far away as Florida, Connecticut and New Hampshire we threw caution to the lack of wind and went for it.  Thanks to the dogged perseverance of Race Committee Peter Clapp, six races were cobbled together from a very light and very inconsistent cross cove breeze out of the ESE.

Sally Sharp of Enfield NH won decisively with three 1sts, a second and a fourth (5 keepers and a throwout).  Defending  Striper Cup champ from 2010, Hank Thorburn of Harpswell ME aced the final two races to finish 6 points behind Sally, while Mark Gaffney of Hope ME sailed consistently to finish only one point behind Hank.

This regatta is the first of 5 to be held this year in the Maine State Championship Series.

Much thanks to Bronwen Williamson and Gloria Gaffney for RC assist.

1 Sally Sharp  Enfield NH  1-5-1-1-2-4  9

2 Hank Thorburn  Harpswell  3-7-7-3-1-1  15

3 Mark Gaffney  Hope   2-2-2-7-4-6  16

4 Tom Jamieson  Belfast   4-DNS-6-2-3-3  18

5 Syd Sewall  Hallowell  5-1-3-6-6-5  20

6 Ray Antweiler  Ft.Myers FL  12-4-4-10-5-2  25

7 Gary Orkney  Stonington CT  8-6-5-4-8-10  31

8 Mike Gaffney  Georgetown  7-3-9-8-7-8  33

9 George Hazelton Thomaston  6-8-8-9-11-9  40

10 John Coale  Cumberland  11-9-12-5-10-7  42

11 Guy Polyblank  Thomaston  9-DNS-11-12-9-11 52

12 Scott Bennington Litchfield  10-10-10-11-12-12 53