New District 7 secretary!

by laserd7

Passing of the torch….

I wanted to let you all know that it is time for me to pass on the proverbial torch as D7 secretary. As some of you know, Scott and I have been spending most of our time out in San Francisco and not much time in RI.  While I have had a blast serving as the D7 secretary for the last three years, it has become increasingly difficult living out in CA as I have become so out of the loop with who’s who and what’s happening in and around D7 that I thought it best to pass the job on to someone more involved. Without having to look too hard, we have found that person!

I want to introduce you all, if you don’t know him by now, to Derek Stow of Tiverton, RI. Derek is an avid D7 Laser sailor and is full of enthusiasm for his new role. Even before moving to our district, he sailed for several years with the Cedar Point frostbite fleet in CT. Since moving from NJ to RI in 2007 he has been a member of Fleet 413 in Newport, and has been sailing in many of the D7 regattas in the summers.

I will still be around to help with the transition but do send your emails and requests to Derek at the same email laserd7@gmail.com

